Yule Songs Credits

Yule Songs vol. II – album credits

The Swingles are:
Joanna Goldsmith-Eteson / Sara Brimer / Clare Wheeler / 
Oliver Griffiths / Christopher Jay / Kevin Fox / Edward Randell

All tracks engineered and edited by Nick Girard
Except 6 and 10 engineered and edited by Juan Luis Ayala at Mind Motion Studio, originally released on the ‘Yule Songs’ EP (2011)
Tracks 2,3,5,9,11,12 recorded at The Barn, East Clandon
Tracks 1,4,7,8 recorded at British Grove Studios, London. Assistant engineer: Martin Hollis
Additional engineering on track 4 by Bryan Farina

Tracks 1,10,11 mixed by Ilkka Herkman; 2 mixed by Dyre Gormsen; 3,5 mixed by Dylan Bell; 4,6,7,9 mixed by Hugh Walker; 8 mixed by Morten Vinther Sørensen; 12 mixed by Art Mullin

Mastered by Ron Boustead at Resolution Mastering

Design: Oliver Griffiths
Cover photo: Nedim Nazerali
Background image: Sergii Mostovyi

A&R: Hugo Vereker

Kurt Elling appears courtesy of Concord Records

Produced by The Swingles and Nick Girard

The Swingles are proud to tour with the AKG WMS4500 wireless microphone system and IVM4 in-ear monitoring system. www.akg.com

The Swingles are managed by Hugo Vereker for LoEx and Christian Ulf-Hansen for Plan C Management.

℗ and © 2015. The copyright in this sound recording is owned by The Swingle Singers LLP. All rights reserved. Unauthorised copying, hiring, lending, public performance prohibited.


1. Gabriel’s Message
(Music: traditional Basque/ Lyric: Sabine Baring-Gould)
Arrangement: Jonathan Rathbone, adapted by The Swingles

2. With Us
(Clare Wheeler)
Arrangement: Clare Wheeler
Solo: Clare / Music box programming, additional vocal drums: Nick Girard

3. Tidings (The Hampton Court Carol)
Arrangement: Kevin Fox/Clare Wheeler
Hampton Court carousel field recording: Kevin / Fiddle: Kit Massey / Bodhrán, sideboard, table, snare box, tambourine, enamel pie dish: Kevin, Ed, Clare, Nick Girard / Additional drum programming:  Dylan Bell

4. The Thaw (feat. Kurt Elling) 
(Edward Randell/excerpt from ‘Des pas sur la neige’ by Claude Debussy)
Arrangement: Kevin Fox

5. Blow, Blow, Thou Winter Wind
(Music: John Dankworth/Lyric: William Shakespeare)
Arrangement: John Dankworth, adapted by The Swingles
Outro solo: Kevin

6. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
Arrangement: Clare Wheeler
Solo: Clare / Bass vocal: Tobias Hug

7. Silent Night
(Music: Franz Xaver Gruber/Lyric: John Freeman Young)
Arrangement: Jonathan Rathbone
Solos: Sara, Oliver

8. Forgotten
(Oliver Griffiths)
Arrangement: Oliver Griffiths/Joanna Goldsmith-Eteson
Solos: Kevin, Oliver, CJ

9. The Kings
(‘Arabian Dance’ by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky/’We Three Kings’ by John Henry Hopkins, Jr.)
Arrangement: Joanna Goldsmith-Eteson

10. O Holy Night
(Music: Adolphe Charles Adam/Lyric: John Sullivan Dwight)
Arrangement: Clare Wheeler
Solos: Jo, Oliver / Bass vocal: Tobias Hug

11. Deck The Hall / What Child Is This?
Arrangement: Ward Swingle
Solo: Jo

12. Wrapped In White
(Edward Randell)
Arrangement: Edward Randell
Solo: Ed / Celeste programming, trans-continental sleigh bells: Ed, Art Mullin

All songs published by The Swingle Singers LLP
Except 1 and 7 published by Peters Edition Ltd; 5 published by Newquay Music Ltd; 11 published by Warner Chappell Music France

Thanks to:

Clare and Simon Jones for the use of their beautiful barn; Kurt Elling and Bryan Farina for thawing our hearts; Nick Girard for putting this project before meals or sleep; all our amazing mixers for meeting our mad deadlines; Hugo Vereker and Christian Ulf-Hansen for their vision; Ward and the ex-Swingle family for leading the way, and our partners, families and friends for their love and support.

Special thanks to LoEx’s Edward Frazer, James Cameron & Hugo Vereker
Thanks also to Jim Elms & the Initiative team